INTERVIEW | Yoga Instructor Claire Rogers

Claire Rogers runs her yoga business In Great Oakley, Essex, near where my folks live. I discovered Claire from simply Googling nearby classes, which brought me to an attractive title – Sunshine Coast Yoga.

When I’m not doing the hardcore weekly Bokwa with my sister in Suffolk, I tend to treat myself to a yoga session with this lovely lady every time I visit my hometown.

sunshine coast yogaIt’s a very local class, which makes it more comfortable and personal to your every need. If you ever want to try yoga or any fitness classes near you, simply do some research on Google and you’ll be surprised! That’s how I did it!

Below is Claire talking about her achievements, as well as the benefits of Yoga, the mindset, motivation, and practice.

The Interview

What are the overall benefits of yoga from your perspective? 

Apart from the obvious benefit of keeping yourself flexible and all your joints moving, Yoga can also help you build muscle strength. You also have the added benefits of feeling calmer, you’re able to put things into perspective on a day-to-day basis and not forgetting its the best thing to sort out stress.claire rogers yoga

How long have you been practicing yoga? 

About 12 years. My original practice started whilst on a round the world trip in Queensland, Australia. After falling in love with the country and staying for another 7 years, I submerged myself in the Yogic culture that is central to a Queenslanders way of life. On returning to the UK a few years ago I felt compelled to train as a teacher and merge my love and understanding of my own practice with that of the British Wheel of Yoga’s diploma course. After qualifying in March 2014, I now hold a Level 3 diploma in teacher training.

What type of yoga do you teach?

I teach Hatha Yoga with a Scaravelli approach. This is using gravity, grounding and your breath to help awaken your body rather than working against it. Its all about creating freedom and proper alignment of your spine for wellbeing.

Claire's Favourite Pose - Warrior 3

Claire’s Favourite Pose – Warrior 3

How can yoga help us beat the Winter blues? 

Yoga can help us by shifting our mindset a little. Yes it’s grey, cold and miserable outside but when you are feeling the benefits of yoga, feeling fit and have an inner radiance, does it really matter? Even just 10 minutes of connecting with your self through breath work, meditation or a simple sequence can banish those blues!

How can you motivate people to practice yoga at home? What is the best way to do it?

People have to find that motivation themselves. Its easy for me to say ‘ practicing for an hour everyday will improve your life’ but I can’t make them get onto the mat. Being a busy mum as well as running my yoga practice, I have learnt the best way to make it achievable at home. I get about 10 – 15 minutes each day on my mat so I make sure I do something that I enjoy. I also try and find ways to bring yoga into my life, whether its a mindful way of eating or standing in tree pose whilst ironing.

I suggest you listen to your body and ask it what it needs, how it would like to move. Getting back to that inner voice is more yoga to me than a perfected headstand.

claire yoga sitting down

Claire taking a break whilst surrounded by housework!

In a class full of people with wildly different aims, how do you strive to keep everyone engaged and motivated?

All my classes are aimed at beginners, I modify each pose for different students’ needs. This includes the more advanced students as I am able to lead them in further. Everyone likes to be challenged and whether you are a complete beginner, have an injury or advanced in your practice you’ll never be bored in a class!

Is there an essential yoga mindset?

I think yoga changes your mindset so to start with it doesn’t really matter. Everyone discovers yoga differently – it brings to you whatever you need at that time. I say if you have found yourself at a yoga class, stick with it… you never know how yoga is going to change your life.

Thank you Claire!

claire yoga face shot

Claire Rogers

 

 

cooltext1730488244

 

Leave a Reply

