STYLE INTERVIEW with Lorna Pissarro | What’s in your Mulberry Handbag?

The Hadleigh Ram is a beautiful boutique restaurant where you can enjoy fabulous food just outside of Ipswich, Suffolk. The staff are passionate about providing excellent service in a boutique restaurant that serves unique local food with clear provenance. I meet up with Proprietor & Marketing Director, Lorna Pissarro to discuss the success of the business, along with discussing her items in her stylish Mulberry handbag!

 

Lorna starts by discussing the background of her company:

 

IMG_4952

 

 

 

“Our family business, Stuart Inns, is run by me and my two chef brothers Iain and Oliver Macmillan. Oliver has been a chef his whole life and it was his idea. He’s worked in the industry in a few different places in the UK, along with doing some travelling. He then thought the time was right to set up his own business.

“We started our hotel and restaurant business three and half years ago. At first I was a graphic designer, then had to leave that job to help run the business. I concentrate on front of house sales and marketing and the hours are very long but worth it in the long run! We started off with the Long Melford Swan three years ago, then in May 2013 we took on and refurbished the Hadleigh Ram.

“We have also just recently taken on the greyhound in Lavenham, which opened in November. I do all the design and interiors along with recently completing our project of adding four beautiful boutique rooms to the Swan, using a separate house we bought next door. “

 

Tell us about your Handbag!

IMG_4941

Mulberry Effie Tote in Black Spongy Pebbled

“This is a beautiful Mulberry Effie Tote handbag. It was a treat I bought for myself after successfully running this business for a year. I went with my husband on a little trip to London, where I spotted this bag and instantly fell in love with it.

“I love Mulberry because of the real leather, and I began loving this brand at 18 after receiving my first Mulberry Roxanne bag. This bag I like in particular because I carry a lot of paperwork along with iPads and books. It’s also practical because of the shoulder strap and the large size so I can fit in all my essentials along with business items.

“There were so many restaurants that we failed in the first year, so when we successfully completed a whole year in one place we were all very pleased. This was more of a celebratory treat. I haven’t carried on the tradition of buying myself a yearly handbag, as it’s now our fourth year running, therefore I would probably own a few expensive Mulberry bags by now!”

 

IMG_4930Mulberry Tree Zip Around Wallet – “This was a birthday present from my dad. I am pretty easy to buy for as its mulberry. It’s a fairly large purse as I need it for lots of receipts and business cards. It seems that when you’re running a business, you have to keep all the receipts! However, there’s never enough money in it though…!”

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_4934
“I got married last year in June and my friend did my make up for me. She chose this Givenchy Teint Couture Long-Wearing foundation as I have very pale skin. It covers up the blemishes and late nights in this job, so I definitely need this for the early morning meetings! It’s illuminating and very comfortable.”

 

IMG_4936

“My husband bought this Jo Malone Earl Grey and Cucumber perfume for me. I think he bought it because he knows I love earl grey tea so it was like an inside joke. It smells fresh with the citrusy essence of my morning cuppa!”

IMG_4928

Garrett Leight Sunglasses: “I bought these fancy glasses in Paris last year on a little weekend break. I quite fancied some round, unique glasses that weren’t your everyday black – so I picked these (rather expensive) and funky Garrett Leight glasses for the spontaneous designer purchase whilst in fashionable France!”

 

 

IMG_4931

“This is my pretty Paperchase notebook, which Izzy, our front of house manager bought me for Christmas. I’m addicted to stationary, so any books or pens from Paperchase are a sure winner. I just take a notebook with me everywhere to jot down ideas and whatever is going on in my mind that day.”

“My iPhone is non-stop, and I would rather have not had that in my handbag. This is simply because of being constantly contacted. If I had to lose anything out of my bag then it would be that item. Unfortunately, I have to keep it with me at all times because it seems like I’m always needed!”

 

IMG_4927

“I do keep my virtual diary on the iPad, even though I still carry a very filled diary with me! It’s easy to quickly add dates of meetings onto the iPad. I find if I’m being more creative then I use my book; but for boring Monday mornings and mundane to-do lists I switch to my iPad. I don’t have time for games so there are not many apps on here. It’s strictly business!”

 

IMG_4939

“It’s been really cold this year, so I take this little mini L’occitane hand cream with me at all times. There’s nothing worse than uncomfortably dry hands whilst writing or typing.“

After interviewing Lorna, I was very impressed with how she was already married and successfully owning and running three hotel businesses at the age of 27!
You go girl!


More information on Stuart Inns
– Stuart Inns is a family-owned company, which was launched just two years ago and now employs more than 40 people at three locations.
Andrew Macmillan and his three children, Oliver, Lorna and Iain run the business. Their complementary skills have been combined successfully to achieve rapid growth. 

The Hadleigh Ram
5 Market Place

Hadleigh
Suffolk, IP7 5DL
01473 822880

Thanks Lorna!

 

cooltext1730488244

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

